When I’m Afraid I Will Trust in You

When I’m afraid I will trust in You

This title sound contradictive. How can we say we’re afraid but at the same time we felt peace in trusting? This is actually comes from the mouth of a great person we all know, he is King david of Israel. Before God made him king over Israel, david face many hardships, including being a fugitive of Saul. Saul chase him wherever david went, at one point in david’s life, he even pretend to be a insane guy in front of Achish, when he ran away for his life to the city of Gad. Can you imagine, Daivid who was a very brave warrior, in fact, he ever tried to save his life by pretending to be insane?

1 sam 21:10-15

And at that, David shot out of there, running for his life from Saul. He went to Achish, king of Gath. When the servants of Achish saw him, they said, “Can this be David, the famous David? Is this the one they sing of at their dances?

Saul kills by the thousand,
David by the ten thousand!”

12-15 When David realized that he had been recognized, he panicked, fearing the worst from Achish, king of Gath. So right there, while they were looking at him, he pretended to go crazy, pounding his head on the city gate and foaming at the mouth, spit dripping from his beard. Achish took one look at him and said to his servants, “Can’t you see he’s crazy? Why did you let him in here? Don’t you think I have enough crazy people to put up with as it is without adding another? Get him out of here!”

But the great things about it is that whenever David face any hardships, he ended up creating a new psalms, a song to his Master, his King, and in those times also David said: When I am afraid I will trust in You

Psalm 56:10-11

In God, whose word I praise,
in the Lord, whose word I praise—
in God I trust and am not afraid.
What can man do to me?

This is what we called a “want to faith”. This kind of faith doesn’t say: because I am able to do it, I am not afraid, instead this faith say: even though right now, I’m still afraid, I still don’t know what to do, but I want to trust in my God, my Almighty God, my EVER ABLE God, my Shield. Maybe some people will called it hypocrisy, but actually it isn’t! This faith also said that, I trust in You Lord, I know You accept me the way I am, and this is me before you, the real me, I want to, but I can’t do it on my own strength.

Lets take a look from Bible’s example of this faith

Remember the story about a lady who had severe bleeding problems for 12 years. She also had spent all her money, went to all “doctors” at that time with still no result, in fact, the disease getting worse. Yet when she heard that Jesus came into the city, she pressed in pressed in through the crowd, just to touch His cloak.

Matt 9:20

20 Just then a woman who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years came up behind him and touched the edge of his cloak. 21 She said to herself, “If I only touch his cloak, I will be healed.”

22 Jesus turned and saw her. “Take heart, daughter,” he said, “your faith has healed you.” And the woman was healed at that moment.

In reality, when she spoke the words, her disease had not yet been healed, but Jesus said that her faith had healed her.

There is also another story of faith from a cripple man.

John 5:1-9

Now there is in Jerusalem by the Sheep Gate a pool, in Aramaic[a] called Bethesda,[b] which has five roofed colonnades. In these lay a multitude of invalids—blind, lame, and paralyzed.[c] One man was there who had been an invalid for thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him lying there and knew that he had already been there a long time, he said to him, “Do you want to be healed?” The sick man answered him, “Sir, I have no one to put me into the pool when the water is stirred up, and while I am going another steps down before me.” Jesus said to him, “Get up, take up your bed, and walk.”And at once the man was healed, and he took up his bed and walked.

Do you mention how Jesus said to the cripple? He didn’t say: get up and walk, then take up your bed. When those words are given to us, normal person, we would immediately do so. But hey, wait a minute, this is a cripple man, so wouldn’t it be appropriate to say: get up and try to walk first, then pick up your bed. But this man didn’t answer back to Him like, hey wait up Jesus, cant u see that I’m an invalid person? How could you say I should pick up my bed then walk. Yet he just follow what Jesus said, and voila, miracle happen.

Still not sure? Lets go for another example

John 2:1-11

Jesus Changes Water Into Wine

On the third day a wedding took place at Cana in Galilee. Jesus’ mother was there, and Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding. When the wine was gone, Jesus’ mother said to him, “They have no more wine.”

“Woman,[a] why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My hour has not yet come.”

His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

Nearby stood six stone water jars, the kind used by the Jews for ceremonial washing, each holding from twenty to thirty gallons.[b]

Jesus said to the servants, “Fill the jars with water”; so they filled them to the brim.

Then he told them, “Now draw some out and take it to the master of the banquet.”

They did so, and the master of the banquet tasted the water that had been turned into wine. He did not realize where it had come from, though the servants who had drawn the water knew. Then he called the bridegroom aside 10 and said, “Everyone brings out the choice wine first and then the cheaper wine after the guests have had too much to drink; but you have saved the best till now.”

11 What Jesus did here in Cana of Galilee was the first of the signs through which he revealed his glory; and his disciples believed in him.

In case the workers didn’t believe Jesus, and didn’t do as He said, the water wont ever be turned to wine.

 

Another scripture say: for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure. (phil 2:13)

He works in us dear brothers and sisters, our only duty is to obey Him, to work out what He has previously done within us. So be bold and say: even though I cant; I want to Lord. And even though I cant make my self want to do what’s right, may Your own word be applied to my case, give me the willingness to obey, and power to “work” it out.

Ezekiel 36:26 MSG The Message

I’ll give you a new heart, put a new spirit in you. I’ll remove the stone heart from your body and replace it with a heart that’s God-willed, not self-willed.

 

Mat 5:3 also said:

“You’re blessed when youre  at the end of your rope. With less of you there is more of God and his rule.

End of your rope means when were in the last part of our strength, to the point of hopelessness. But when we are weak, then He will prove He is strong for us. When we say “Hands up” (I give up using my own way, my own strength), God will say “then I will step (hands) in”.

There is a story about a child who was in the middle of playing along the sea shore with his friends. Suddenly, the wave became so big and it swept him to the middle of the sea. All of his friends became frantic, panic and calling for help. Fortunately there was a coast guard in charge, and he directly swam to help the boy. But strangely, the coast guard didn’t reach for him as soon as he came to the spot which the boy was in, instead he wait and wait until the boy stop wriggling, and stop struggling by himself. When the boy was finally gave up, the coast guard immediately came and put him on his back and swam to to the shore, and …. Happy ending, the boy was saved and came back safe and sound.

The boy’s friends were furious and bewildered as they asked why wouldn’t he help him sooner, why would he wait and wait until the boy couldn’t do anything else? And the coast guard answered them that if he had helped the boy when he was still struggling by himself, he wouldn’t be able to save either himself or the boy.

God doesn’t search a capable man, nope, He is looking for a willing man. The power comes from Him alone to do what He wants us to do.

 

Give thanks

Give thanks with a grateful heart

Give thanks to the holy one

Give thanks because Hes given Jesus Christ His Son

Let the weak say I am strong

Let the poor say I am rich

Because of what the Lord has done

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

