A Person of Purpose

We need to have purpose in everything that we do, if not we will left feel empty and pointless. Most of the time, we want instant gratification of our desires, why wouldn’t we? we like that feeling of satisfaction, of having our “current needs” fulfilled. Yet is that the way it should be?

Jesus showed us an example of becoming “a Person of purpose”. He came to earth to give us an abundant life, a complete life (John 10:10), He came not to do His own will, but to glorify GOD (John 17:5), to save the world not to judge the world (John 12:47); to destroy the works of the devil (1 John 3:8)

I just want to share a down to earth approach to this principle, which is just my own experiences.

Often we feel so lazy just to get out of bed each morning, we want to have more minutes napping, yet we know that if we continue doing that we will arrive minutes late for school or work; Or we feel so reluctant to stop doing things we enjoy doing, such as watching TV, dramas, yet if we keep doing them we know we will be sleeping late, and get a hard time to wake up tomorrow, therefore we skip the time we should be spending with God before we start our day. Or (this is what women are finding very difficult, somehow I guess, hehe) we have a very difficult times restraining ourselves not to buy something we know we don’t need, but in the moment feel so important (let’s say “shopping”, right?”)

I found out this truth just then when I was having my “conversation” with God this morning. His Holy Spirit (John 14:26) taught me, that I need to do everything on purpose. I should wake up every morning an hour earlier on purpose to spend more time with Him before I start doing the “work”, I should know when to stop doing things I call ‘refreshing’ things, when the timing is just not right anymore (I’m not saying we have to be rigid and over scheduled, but we need to have an “alarm” in our hearts if we are overdoing something, we just know it, and if we ignore the “alarm” , we grieve the Holy Spirit, which is not a good thing [yet I often fall in this area] >.<).

in order to be a person of purpose, we need to be honest with ourselves. What is the motivation behind the things we do? is it really worth it? is it something that we reallllyyy need?

There will come times when what we want, is simply the opposite of what God wants for our life. the times when we need to “deny yourself” and “crucify your flesh”. They wont feel great, I’m sure of it. You know, it’s the kind of feeling “in wait” or to put it bluntly “let go of our own way”. we are afraid, don’t we? afraid of the consequences if we are not having our way? It takes a lot of work and humility and brokenness to take us to the place where we are mold-able and willing to do whatever God will, no matter what we want, or feel.

But God told me that, if we are willing to let go of our own way ON PURPOSE and FOR A PURPOSE, even though it feels soo hard, to do His will, then HE will step in and give us the gratification that we really need in due time.

Psalm 37:4 said to : Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.

and one more important thing I want to share in the journey is to

lie down that kind of “burden”, burden in our hearts of not having our desires met, burden to persevere in times of waiting, and keep on chasing His best for us, focus our eyes on the goal God has set before us, RUN! leave any burden, let God takes care of you as you put HIS KINGDOM FIRST! (Matt 6:33)

Hebrew 12:1-3 sum it up:

1 Therefore then, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses [who have borne testimony to the Truth], let us strip off and throw aside every encumbrance (unnecessary weight) and that sin which so readily (deftly and cleverly) clings to and entangles us, and let us run with patient endurance and steady and active persistence the appointed course of the race that is set before us,

2 Looking away [from all that will distract] to Jesus, Who is the Leader and the Source of our faith [giving the first incentive for our belief] and is also its Finisher [bringing it to maturity and perfection]. He, for the joy [of obtaining the prize] that was set before Him, endured the cross, despising and ignoring the shame, and is now seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

3 Just think of Him Who endured from sinners such grievous opposition and bitter hostility against Himself [reckon up and consider it all in comparison with your trials], so that you may not grow weary or exhausted, losing heart and relaxing and fainting in your minds.

I invite you who wants to be a person of purpose to declare with me these powerful words:

I declare that I am a person of purpose. I don’t go around life doing whatever my flesh tells me to do. God has given me the ability to choose what is right ON PURPOSE, and I LET GO any UNNECESSARY WEIGHT in His hands. I RUN and nothing holds me back from God’s best for my life. I believe that as I continue to DELIGHT myself in HIM, in doing His will, He will give me even the SECRET PETITIONS of my heart. Yes, I will put HIS KINGDOM FIRST and all those things will be given to me AS WELL. In Jesus Name, Amen!

Leave a Reply

